Temptation

Received lots of encouragement previous week to move on. This week, i ponder and pray again about what went wrong at the first place. Today's devotion talked about temptations. and I was previewing the Bible study of tonight, I read about the story of Lot.

He at the first place, chose a more beautiful land to live in to feed his selfish ambition. At the end, we can see he actually picked a place of war rather than peace. And he succumbed to the temptation of the severe Sin at Sodom, lost the effectiveness as the child of light and needed God's angels to literally pull him out of the fire of destruction about to burn onto him. His other half looked back, and became a pillar of salt.

I asked myself if I looked back to where God had pulled me out – a place of temptation. I thank Him for giving me a new life and redeemed me back to serve in the church. But sometimes, I do feel like Lot – i failed and succumbed to temptations. Although i was not as wicked as the Sodomites, I became a lukewarm Christian. Can I be the light, if I'm so close to the temptation?

Darkness and Light can't coexist – this seemed to be a very obvious truth, but as Christians, we almost always forget that if we choose not to be the light for God, we actually automatically picked the dark side.

Do I have the courage like Abraham, to choose a field less fertile, but to follow God's lead?

''Whoever tries to keep their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life will preserve it.'' Luke 17:33

Do I have the courage to totally believe in this day by day?

Leave a Reply

