You should thank your Doctor

Jonathan has given another brilliant sermon today.

I tried hard to stop my tears from coming down as I dun wanna get into the spotlight when on service of the worship team. I do really wanna cry my eyes out when I listen to the sermon record again.

It’s about Exodus 20 and the commandments to Moses.

He made a lot of relevant reference of verses Deuteronomy 6:4-6, Matthew 22:37-40, 1 Samuel, Psalm, Romans, 2 Timothy

and what impressed me the most is this.

‘Do You Love Me?’

He summed up the whole passage by asking us a simple question. Do you love me more than anything else? He invited every of the congregation to step out of the comfort zone if their answer is Yes.

Another thing that rebuked me in a good way is, he challenged us to be perfect for God. He quoted Matthew 5:48.

All these years after the Cathay thing, I just forget being diligent and striving for excellence are GOOD things. But I thank God for challenging me again. I thank Him for giving me the courage to go for a challenge again too.

I was once a fearless child who dares to endure whatever hardship to achieve the goodness in life. Then I caved in the idea of having a comfy high life – which was never what I wanted.

I really can see clearly what makes my life fulfilled – work my ass off, achieve the big goodness, work for high calling, be healthy, do charity, help others, teach others, coach others, have a flexible schedule….etc.

Nothing about high life and luxuries.

Then I rethink why people wanna be doctors so badly still, even now it’s a nasty pain in the ass job you can have. Or as we discussed on the floor in our dorm room in Adelaide – you have to see all kinds of brutal reality, sad goodbyes, pains, crying and yelling, heartaches..etc.

Simply coz of the high calling. This is what you have to do.

Same for us as Christians. Do not grieve the Holy Spirit. Ephesians 4:30

‘Do You Love Me?’

Yes, Lord. I do.

I will go wherever you want me to go.

Leave a Reply

